Welcome to Ashbourne Cricket Club

While there was never a formal cricket club in Ashbourne in existence, there are accounts of cricket being played around the locality in areas such as Ballymadun, Muckerstown, Kilbrew, Greenogue, Ratoath, Donaghmore and of course, the adjacent Fingal region.

                                                     Ashbourne Cricket Club (circa 1903!)  

Ashbourne Cricket Club was set up in June 2013 by Terry Bruton, Sean Smith and Renjith Alias, 3 residents of Ashbourne. All three met up at the derelict Ashbourne Pitch and Putt club site (now Ashbourne Baseball Club) for a brief meeting to outline what would have to be done to get a cricket club up and running in Ashbourne, and indeed, if there was even any interest in the town for such an amenity. A list of short term goals and milestones were set up and in November 2013, an advertised meeting was held in Donaghmore/Ashbourne GAA Club where interested locals turned up to hear about the plans of Ashbourne’s latest sporting club. It was immediately evident that Ashbourne Cricket Club was definitely going to happen. The club’s first executive was assembled in December of 2013 and planned for a season of friendly matches for adults as well as locating a home ground. The home ground in question turned out to be the field adjacent to the Pitch and Putt club behind Ashbourne community centre, which is the club’s home ground today. Ashbourne men’s first XI played their first ever game away to Swords CC in April 2014. In total Ashbourne played 13 friendly games and 1 cup game in 2014 (all away from home).

Ashbourne Cricket Club’s first ever men’s team (April 2014)

2015 saw the club lay an artificial wicket in March after securing funding from the Sports Capital Program. The following month Ashbourne played their first ever home game against Tyrrelstown CC at the Community Centre, and went on to play their first ever league game against AIB in Division 16 of the Leinster Cricket Union a month later. Ashbourne went on to finish 2nd in Division 16 and got bumped up to Division 13. Ashbourne then went on to win Division 13 outright in 2016 and also got to the T20 cup final, which they lost to AIB. 2016 also saw Ashbourne introduce a 2nd men’s XI which was entered into Division 16 of the Leinster Cricket Union. This was a huge indicator of how popular the game had become in the town. 2017 saw Ashbourne’s first XI jump another 2 divisions to Division 11 where they once again they won it outright and were beaten finalists (by Clondalkin CC) in the T20 cup. Their excellent performances were once again rewarded with a jump of another 3 divisions to Division 8 for the 2018 season.

Ashbourne Cricket Club’s first ever home game (April 2015)

 Division 11 Champions and T20 Finalists 2017

In 2018, Ashbourne’s first XI will play in LCU Division 8, the Middle 2 cup, The YMCA Salver T20 cup and the Midlands Cricket Union Wallace Cup.
The 2nd XI will play in LCU division 16, the Minor 2 cup, the Russell Court T20 trophy and the Midlands Cricket Union Dick O’ Neill cup.
2018 will also see Ashbourne introduce a youth section to the club. A partnership between Meath Local Sports Partnership and the Leinster Cricket Union will cricket being introduced to various schools in the Ashbourne area with a school’s blitz to be held at Ashbourne CC at the end of the school year. Hopefully, the club will reap the rewards of such a positive initiative and start to build a solid foundation for many years to come.
Ashbourne CC has come along way since that day in June 2013 and if previous trends are anything to go by, the club are going to be a club that will rival the established clubs in the Leinster Cricket Union in the very near future.